Home Community Mortlock victorious in CBH Women’s Country Championships

Mortlock victorious in CBH Women’s Country Championships


The 2019 CBH Group Women’s Country Championship was held over 14-16 June at Perth Hockey Stadium.

Mortlock Hockey Association ladies from all over the region put together two outstanding teams to battle it out against the best country players in Western Australia.

The division 3 team consisted of Jonelle Ballantyne, Jocelyn King, Naomi Auhl and Brie Hitchcock from Calingiri; Dimity Chivers and Sam Dickins from Dalwallinu; Zjene Stratford, Michelle Bear from Dowerin; Gingin players Alicia Gomersall, Simone Hyne, Anne Maree Hagge, Jess Pulgia, Ali McVee; Chris Schorer and Jess Dunning from Goomalling and Susie Sellars from Wongan-Ballidu.
Anne Maree Hagge was particularly excited to be attending country week 2019 after missing out on the much-anticipated tournament last year.

“Thursday came around and after packing all my arnica, sports tape, ice packs and magnesium Epsom salt, I was ready to hit the accommodation in South Perth. We had our team meeting that night and laid out on the table what we wanted and specifically the coach’s instructions – ‘I’m not going home without a gold medal’. The challenge was set!” said Anne Maree.

Over the three days, the Division 3 team competed against Central Midlands Coastal, Busselton, North Midlands and Lower Great Southern teams, culminating in a grand final win over Central Midlands Coastal, 2-1.

“Friday morning, game one made us realise it wasn’t going to be an easy win. We lost against a very strong side and had a lesson in teamwork,” said Anne Maree.

“Three more hard-fought games followed over the two days and we were back on track and fronted up to the grand final on Sunday morning to be victorious against the team who beat us on Friday.”

Division 4 team members were Abbey Waters, Emma Derbyshire, Tessa Woods from Calingiri; Rhian Hathaway, Danielle Perkins, Kyara Hathaway, Jo-Ellen Jones, and Rachel Perkins from Dowerin; Kelly Shields, Rochell Van Blittersswyk from Gingin; Cheryl Watson, Emma Scogna, Royce Smith from Goomalling and Chenaye Davidson, Mikaela Betty, Luisa Dowsett, Sarah Peters from Wongan-Ballidu.
They competed against Avon, East Avon, Eastern Districts and Upper Great Southern and finished the competition in fourth place.
Mortlock Hockey Association was also presented with the Fallows Cup for a great diplay of sportsmanship and team spirit.
Anne Maree explains, “We set out to win. We worked hard together, had a plan and the team spirit was high. We listened to our captain Brie and played above and beyond. Some of our team were playing with injuries and illness, and everyone stepped up and played harder.

“It made me realise what I love about sports – the camaraderie and the importance sport makes to the very essence of living in regional WA. It was a weekend to remember and we won in every aspect I can think of – friendships, skill development and the opportunity to go up a division next year.”